SPORTEL Awards reveals the laureates of its 2023 edition!

Back to news · Sportel Awards · October 23, 2023

SPORTEL Awards 2023 concluded on Monday, October 23 with a magnificent Awards Ceremony held at the Grimaldi Forum Monaco.

The ceremony, broadcast live on TV Monaco, the first national public channel of Monaco within the TV5 Monde network, lived up to all expectations.

Preceded by the parade of numerous champions from various sports on an emerald green carpet, a color code adopted by the international event, marking each of its editions with a unique touch, this year's gala will be etched in memory for a long time. Inside the Prince Pierre Auditorium, a galaxy of stars were spotted each with a unique talent of impressive achievements for some and promising careers for others.

During the ceremony, hosted by Marc Maury, former decathlete and rugby player, the 2023 awards were revealed, honouring the most outstanding sports moments of the year with the Georges Bertellotti Golden Podiums and the best illustrated sports book with the Sports Book Prize Renaud de Laborderie.

A multitude of champions graced the stage to present the trophies to the winners, chosen by an expert jury presided over by the vice-world champion and French discus record holder, 22-time French champion, and Olympic runner-up, Mélina Robert Michon.

In the company of the French discus thrower was one of the world's best skiers, Tessa Worley, the renowned British sports photographer, Richard Pelham, the prominent reporter, Stéphane Le Goff, the Creative Director at Publicis Sport, Olivier Henry, the mogul skiing star, Perrine Laffont, who boasts one of the most impressive mogul skiing records globally and represents the French National Olympic and Sports Committee, Robert Colle, Vice President of the Monegasque Ski Federation representing the Monegasque Olympic Committee, and the famous Ivorian taekwondo practitioner, Ruth Gbagbi, double Olympic medalist, 2020 world taekwondo ranking leader, and Champion for Peace of Peace & Sport.

Several highlights punctuated this ceremony including the spectacular freestyle basketball tricks performed by Bulldog Mack and George Torch, the famous Harlem Globe-trotters, as well as the emotion of newly crowned world medalist gymnasts Marine Boyer, Morgane Osyssek-Reimer, Djenna Laroui, Lorette Charpy, and Coline Devillard, who were interviewed about their historic performance at the recent World Championships.

Mr. Pierre Casiraghi, representing H.S.H. Prince Albert II, closed the ceremony by presenting the Legend Award to Katarina Witt, the most decorated figure skater of the modern era, double Olympic champion, four-time world champion, eight-time European champion, and eight-time German champion. Katarina Witt now joins the ranks of SPORTEL Awards Legends, following Didier Deschamps in 2018 and Alain Prost in 2019.

"Through the most outstanding sporting images of the year that have been rewarded this evening, we are honouring all the champions of all disciplines, and that is the soul of our event. All these top sportsmen and women inspire admiration for their rigour and courage. It's important to give them the recognition they deserve" concludes Loris Menoni, Executive Director of the SPORTEL Awards.